Change search
CiteExportLink to record
Permanent link

Direct link
Cite
Citation style
  • apa
  • harvard1
  • ieee
  • modern-language-association-8th-edition
  • vancouver
  • Other style
More styles
Language
  • de-DE
  • en-GB
  • en-US
  • fi-FI
  • nn-NO
  • nn-NB
  • sv-SE
  • Other locale
More languages
Output format
  • html
  • text
  • asciidoc
  • rtf
Pictures of Spring: Aesthetic Learning and Pedagogical Dilemmas in Visual Arts
University of Borås, School of Education and Behavioural Science.
2011 (English)In: Educational Encounters: Nordic Studies in Early Childhood Didactics. International Perspectives on Early Childhood Education and Development 4. / [ed] Niklas Pramling, Ingrid Pramling Samuelsson, Springer Verlag , 2011, 85-104 p.Chapter in book (Refereed)
Place, publisher, year, edition, pages
Springer Verlag , 2011. 85-104 p.
National Category
Pedagogy
Research subject
Teacher Education and Education Work
Identifiers
URN: urn:nbn:se:hb:diva-5036Local ID: 2320/9774ISBN: 9400716168 (print)OAI: oai:DiVA.org:hb-5036DiVA: diva2:884455
Note

Qualitative analyses of young children’s learning in natural settings are rare, so this new book will make educators sit up and pay attention. It lays out a Nordic, or continental European teaching and learning paradigm whose didactic framework is distinct from the Anglo-American system. This analysis, which features contributions and case studies from researchers in a range of subjects, is built on principles such as the learner’s perspective, establishing sufficient intersubjectivity, ‘pointing out’, and informing experience linguistically. After clarifying some historical background, the book discusses the contemporary emphasis in early childhood education on pedagogy/learning. What should ‘didactics’ mean in educating young children? The book examines the opportunities for learning that teachers provide for children in early childhood education, as well as how children respond to these opportunities. It presents empirical studies from a variety of naturalistic settings, including mathematics, making visual art, ecology, music, dance, literacy and story-telling, as well as learning about gender, morality and democracy. The authors seek to answer key questions about the processes involved in both teaching and learning. What challenges do teachers face as they try to expand children’s knowledge in various fields of learning? How do they respond to these challenges, and what can we learn about children’s corresponding uptake? What now requires further research? One key distinction in researching children’s learning is between studies that look at ‘process’ and those that analyze ‘product’. In the tradition of Piaget, Vygotsky and Werner, as well as Mercer and Valsiner’s more recent work, this book advocates the importance and relative rareness of the former type of study.

Show More

Show Less

Available from: 2015-12-17 Created: 2015-12-17

Open Access in DiVA

No full text

Search in DiVA

By author/editor
Bendroth Karlsson, Marie
By organisation
School of Education and Behavioural Science
Pedagogy

Search outside of DiVA

GoogleGoogle Scholar

Total: 43 hits
CiteExportLink to record
Permanent link

Direct link
Cite
Citation style
  • apa
  • harvard1
  • ieee
  • modern-language-association-8th-edition
  • vancouver
  • Other style
More styles
Language
  • de-DE
  • en-GB
  • en-US
  • fi-FI
  • nn-NO
  • nn-NB
  • sv-SE
  • Other locale
More languages
Output format
  • html
  • text
  • asciidoc
  • rtf